GRM Sponsors

The Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf

The Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (GCC) is a cooperative framework established on 25 May 1981 joining the six states of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates to effect coordination, integration and inter-connection in all fields in order to achieve greater unity. The GCC Charter emphasizes the deepening and strengthening of relations, links and areas of cooperation among all six states. On one hand, the GCC is a continuation, evolution and institutionalization of old prevailing realities; on the other, it is a practical answer to the challenges of security and economic development in the region. It is also a fulfillment of the aspirations of its citizens towards Arab regional unity. In addition to strengthening cooperation and integration, the GCC also has as its goal, the formulation of similar and thus unifying regulations for the member states in various fields, including: economic and financial affairs; commerce, customs and communications; education and culture; social and health affairs; information and tourism; as well as legislative and administrative affairs. The GCC also aims to: stimulate scientific and technological progress in the fields of industry, mining, agriculture, water and animal resources; to establish scientific research; to establish joint ventures; and to encourage cooperation by the private sector for the good of the peoples of the GCC states.

Copyright ©️ 2009 - 2024 Gulf Research Centre Cambridge. All rights reserved.
Terms, Conditions and Privacy Policy